On the eve of 30.

Tomorrow is the day.

Isn’t it amazing what value we place on certain days?  Like the world is brand new on January 1st, like everyone loves everyone on Valentine’s Day, or that green is such a neat color on March 17th.  We won’t get too deep into the issue we have with what “we” have assigned to certain days (ahem …. Jesus’ birth was probably more in the summertime then on December 25th …. cough), but the fact remains, that we have “markers” for ourselves built into the year.  This could be a birthday, and anniversary, heck even a payday, or a fresh day off of work.

All of these days have something special in common, and that is the special value that we place in them.  There isn’t reeeeeeally anything special about really any of them, scientifically speaking.  It’s not like the sky turns polkadotted and the sun stays out for 23 hours instead of about 12 … mechanically they are the same.

But what if each day had this special value, this special capability for greatness, this precious, intrinsic worth?  Well here’s a secret.  They do.

Hundreds, if not thousands of books about motivation, determination, and self-help are predicated on the fact that we have today, and what are you going to do about it?  This idea isn’t anything new.  Even so, day after day, many of us get stuck in traffic (literally) or in the jam of our own ideas about life or ourselves that limit what we are purposed to do.

Here’s another secret, I have finished many things in my life, but there are still more that I haven’t.  I am sure my wife will blog (or has already) about the silly things that I put off or forget about, or the big things in life that seem to never get done.  Example?  I have a thing about finishing books.  I will read most books about 1/2 to 3/4 of the way through, and then I am done with them.  I am not sure what that’s about … maybe its about be getting bored with it, hearing the stuff before, or thinking I know how it will end (even if it’s non-fiction).

So, it’s not a surprise that when I have mentioned some of my targets for this year with some of my closest folks, I get responses that make me feel the list is too long, too lofty, or ….. (the statement that I dread) …. that I won’t finish.

Now, I’m not going to go into any tirade about how I won’t fail, or how this time will be different.  The fact is that it might not be any different. I’ve got some seriously tough stuff on there (which you all will see Thursday morning), and the reality is that they might not all be checked through.  That might be the reality, but it isn’t the point.  The point is moving past this idea that I am trapped by past images of myself, and to push through to a tomorrow that leaves me a better, kinder, more prepared, and overall well-trained individual to meet my purposes in life.

Paul tells the Corinthians in his first letter to them ….

“Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize?  Run in such a way that you may win.” – 1st Corinthians 9.24

Here I have the directive.  The directive is not to win the race …. the directive is to run in a way that I might win.  See you all on Thursday.

One response to “On the eve of 30.

Leave a Reply

