17 days and counting –

I have been working on a bit of a project.  I’ve made a few facebook status updates in regards to this, but it’s probably time to let this one out of the bag.

You see I have a theory.  A theory about motivation, getting things done, and “bucket lists”.  This theory is not a new one, but one that has been around for a long time.  The theory of procrastination:

“Why do today, what you can put off until next week?” – (Unknown)

Well, to be honest, I really just don’t know who said it … and it may have just been me right there that coined it.  The fact is that many of us have some kind of idea about things we would like to do, want to do, or be able to tell our grand-kids about.  These are silly, meaningful, make-a-difference, life-changing, or personal things.  Regardless, these things exist in our lives right now whether we admit them or not.  The problem is, that we many times think that today isn’t that time.

“I’ll write that letter next week.”

“One day I’ll get my degree.”

“Those people that do those wild and crazy things must not have a job.”

“In 10 years, I’ll make that humanitarian trip to Bulgaria.”

“Before I die, I’d like to jump out of an airplane.”

The way we say it may be different, but we are all saying the same thing.  We are saying that life is getting in the way of the things that can develop our full potential, whatever that may be.

So, I turn 30 on March 10th.  On that date, I am going to start my own project to address things in my life that I have put off for too long and that will develop me as a husband, father, counselor, and person.  A journey of sorts, and I am surprising myself with things that are being added to the list, and surprising myself as well that I am going to share them with the meager smattering of folks that look at this infrequently posted-on blog.  I will admit, I am feeling a bit exposed.  Even so, much research shows (heck the entirety of the Weight Watchers model, as an example) is predicated on accountability with meaningful people.  Welcome!  You have been enlisted.  Don’t let me down.

Don’t get me wrong, I know that a lot of these “lists”, whether they be “bucket lists”, “things to do before 30”, “New Year’s resolutions”, can sometimes have this very self-centered frame of reference.  The fact is that each also have the commonality of this hope of what we could become if the remedial tasks of our lives were actually just that, the afterthought, not the focus. 

What if we worked hard to develop ourselves to the fullest potential we could, working to ascertain our divine purpose, and building habits (both physical and mental) that promote this idea that we might just be here on this planet for a bigger purpose than our own?

And, it’s not like I have had a wasted life so far.  I have met and been married to the love of my life and best friend (and if you don’t believe it, she writes about it … I am a pretty decent guy) for seven (almost eight) years, have two amazing boys, have earned a Bachelor’s Degree, Master’s Degree, my professional license to practice independently, and have applied to begin work on my Doctoral Degree in Psychology.  I have visited another country, close to half the states in the union, played several musical instruments, enjoyed many jobs and promotions therein, being blessed in that process to be able to see the people grow in their potential and capability.  That’s nothing to scoff at, that is for sure.

But you see, that’s the thing.  No matter the person or the list, there is always something more, something to refine, a life to impact, and potential to achieve.  In my research for my “list” for the next year, here are some of the people’s sites I have visited.  Take a gander of the diversity of things waiting to be done:

pretty green girl

My Soapbox

Grey Moggie Greetings

Adventures before the big 3-0

Thoughts Appear’s Blog

All of them saw a particular time in their life as the “time” to do what they had been waiting to do.  So, I am going to share mine with you … or at least with this computer screen (maybe if I just visit my site a few times a day, I can make myself feel better with my readership coming up).  This process is about myself, but maybe as you look and read, we can come together to the understanding that all we really have is today, and what we choose to do with that day will impact all the days that follow.

More to come.  17 days until March 10th.

2 responses to “17 days and counting –

Leave a Reply

